Hogan Cup at Riverside G&CC

Hogan Cup at Riverside G&CC
Authored by Tyler Johnsen with Comments Off on Hogan Cup at Riverside G&CC| Junior Golf

Forty-eight of the most talented junior golfers from the Western United States and Canada are gathering for the 54th playing of the Eddie Hogan Cup Team Matches, taking place August 13-14 at Riverside Golf & Country Club in Portland, Ore.

The Hogan Cup 36-hole team matches – held annually at Riverside G&CC – feature four-person teams of junior golfers from eight states and British Columbia, with a total of 12 teams competing. In the team format, the three lowest scores each day determine the team total. Medals will be awarded to the top three teams and individuals.

Team Washington will be represented by Baylor Larrabee, Brock Maulding, Benjamin Mulder and Nathan Yocam, and captained by District 6 Co-Director Jim von Doehren. The team is selected at the conclusion of the WJGA State Championship with the team members earning their spot based on their points list standing and the overall boys’ state champion.

In the competition’s history, teams from Northern and Southern California have been dominant. They have won 30 Hogan Cup titles between the two, with Southern California winning in 2021. The last time Northern California won was in 2014.

The event began in 1969 in commemoration of the vast achievements and contributions to the sport by Eddie Hogan, Riverside’s long-time head golf professional who served the club from 1939 until his tragic drowning death in 1968. Hogan, an Oregon Amateur champion and PNGA Amateur champion, transformed the role of the golf professional, developing what is now considered the standard for the green grass pro shop. Hogan was dedicated in helping the Oregon Golf Association develop its widely-recognized junior golf program.

Hogan Cup alumni include tour players such as Tiger Woods, Rickie Fowler, Fred Couples, Bryson DeChambeau, Casey Martin, Peter Jacobsen, Beau Hossler, Jeff Quinney, Patrick Cantlay, Bobby Clampett, Lennie Clements, Scott Simpson, Robert Gamez, Bill Sanders, Kirk Triplett, John Fought and Jason Gore.