Player of the Year


Akshay Anand, Redmond

Earning a total of 322 points in 2021, Akshay Anand earns WJGA’s Boys’ Player of the Year. Akshay had a great year that included victories at the WJGA Western Open and WJGA Players Open open; a 14th place finish at the Junior Americas Cup; a 25th place finish at the Junior World National, and a 10th place finish at the WJGA State Championship. Congratulations Akshay on earning the 2021 WJGA Boys’ Player of the Year!

Kennedy Knox, Normandy Park

Kennedy Knox earned a total of 442 points during the 2021 season, in one of the most memorable years in recent memory. Kennedy captured the WJGA Girls’ Overall State Championship, the Washington State Women’s Amateur and the PNGA Junior Girls’ titles this summer. In addition to those victories, Kennedy also won the WJGA Players Open; advanced to the semifinals of the WJGA State Match Play and qualified for the USGA Girls’ Junior Amateur Championship. Congratulations Lauryn on a memorable year and earning our 2021 Girls’ Player of the Year!

Past Player of the Year winners
The perpetual “player of the year” trophy (given to the player with the most points at the end of the WJGA season) that resides in the WJGA office is named in memory of a now deceased, long time junior golf supporter, Jack Baty.  Jack was always ready to give his time and wisdom to any junior player wanting it.  His home was on the driving range at Fircrest GC.  He and his wife, Shirley, are held warmly in the heart of WJGA.

1999 Lani Elson and Ryan Camp
2000 Paige Mackenzie and Ryan Keeney
2001 Lauren Ressler and Charles Koh
2002 Kim Shin and Craig Leslie
2003 Kim Shin and Joel Dahmen
2004 Amy Eneroth and Kyle Stanley
2005 Beth Stonecypher and TJ Bordeaux
2006 Jordan Allyne and Andrew Putnam
2007 Katrina Hegge and Chris Williams
2008 Katrina Hegge and Kevin Penner
2009 Rachel Choi and Zach Wanderscheid
2010 Chelsea May Saelee and Garrett Howard
2011 Alexus Song and Dominick Francks
2012 Jordan Ferreira and Frank Garber
2013 Sierra Kersten and Frank Garber
2014 Sierra Kersten and Sam Warkentin
2015 Kennedee Peters and Sam Warkentin
2016 Brittany Kwon and Sean Kato
2017 Brittany Kwon and Alvin Kwak
2018 Brittany Kwon and Colt Sherrell
2019 Gihoe Seo and Daniel Kim
2020 Lauryn Nguyen and Jahan Bains
2021 Kennedy Knox and Akshay Anand